Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble Concert

6 May 2017 - 3:00pm

The AIC is excited to present our rescheduled concert by Northern Ireland new music performing group, Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble.

Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble are regular commissioners of new works, and are known for putting together brilliant programmes that bring these new works together with important international works. This concert, titled ‘While you listen II’ features 3 works commissioned especially for the ensemble this season with funds from ACNI. www.hardrainsoloistensemble.com 

Free entry. With thanks to Hugh Lane Gallery.

Irish Composers on Irish Music is a series that encompasses concerts programmed by Irish composers of works by Irish composers; talks and discussion events featuring Irish composers, musicians and musicologists; and articles, reviews and video interviews on the AIC New Music Journal. Supported by Arts Council Ireland and IMRO. www.aicnewmusicjournal.com 


Simon Mawhinney – The Zeddy Dance** (2016) Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

Karen Power – is it raining while you listen? (2011) Alto Flute, Violin & Piano

Ryan Molloy – Gortnagarn II** (2016) Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

Piers Hellawell – Balcony Scenes (2014) Solo Violin


Andrew Hamilton  – D* (2016 – Commissioned by Moving On Music) Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

Greg Caffrey – These are the Clouds About the Fallen Sun* (2013) Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

Stephen Gardner – Guttersnipe* (2016) Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Violoncello & Piano

*Written especially for HRSE

**Commissioned by HRSE with funds from ACNI