Announcing the ISCM 2018 Selected Composers

14 Jan 2018 - 5:15pm

The AIC is delighted to announce the six selected works for the official Irish section submission for the International Society for Contemporary Music World Music Days Festival in Beijing in May 2018. The AIC as the Irish Section of the ISCM, submits six works each year to the festival, selected from a call for scores, of which one will be selected for presentation at the festival.

The chosen works for 2018 are:

Jonathan Nangle: Tesselate
David Bremner: Focus, evasion
Karen Power: Hearing Leaves
Nick Roth: A Loved A Long
Sebastian Adams: String Quartet No. 2
Ailis Ni Riain: Break Down De Doom

The works were chosen by a panel consisting of: AIC committee members Oliver Hynes and Martin O'Leary, 2017 ISCM Festival Irish composer Ryan Molloy, AIC New Music Journal editor Jennifer McCay, CMC representative Jonathan Grimes and independent musician Lina Andonovska. The panel was chaired by AIC Secretary Anna Murray.

For more about the festival, see here.